this heat…

Sometimes I think of the land as it stretches around me, as it spreads across this desert , up across the Tehachapis, down the incline into Bakersfield and beyond.

I can feel it extend itself toward northern California.

It ripples across the gentle hills and those agricultural plains at the center of this land.

I sometimes feel like a bird floating northward, looking down at rough, rocky edges of those hills, at knotted oaks and shrubbery and traces of water, unseasonable. Usually it’s dry stream beds.

It’s the water I like to imagine.

I can feel it, even hear it.

Waters moving soundlessly across the valley floors, dark, through central California. Waters seeping under the ground.

Water.

spring and algae

spring and algae

About rainshadowfarm

I teach anthropology, am an archaeologist, a drylands agroecologist, community educator, and a single mother of eight grown kids. I currently own and operate an educational and research farm in the southern Mojave Desert, Rainshadow Farm. I'm 100% West Virginia hillbilly. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Nature, spiritual ecologies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment