downsize

I’m looking at master’s students’ course plans. I have two master’s students right now.

They are lovely course plans and I’m looking forward to working with these particular students.

Both students asked about changes of direction in some part of their initial plans. It was nice to let them know that the school and their individual departments are open to those kinds of changes.

So I began to think about my own recent course corrections.

I’m actively downsizing.

I don’t seem to be able to do it quickly enough. I’m impatient about it and being too hard on myself. I suppose I need someone to tell me that these kinds of changes are okay and all happen when the time is right. Or something.

Mostly I hope my course corrections will work themselves into a decently functional life plan.

Does it look like I'm downsizing?

Does it look like I’m downsizing?

Does it really?

Does it really?

About rainshadowfarm

I teach anthropology, am an archaeologist, a drylands agroecologist, community educator, and a mother of eight. I currently own and operate an educational and research farm in the southern Mojave Desert, Rainshadow Farm. I'm 100% West Virginia hillbilly. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Adjuncting, Life changes, resilience and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to downsize

  1. Elizabeth says:

    When you downsize TRULY, let me know how you’ve done it because I’m dying to do so as well and just — well — can’t seem to do it!

    • What I have managed to do is go through some of my books and offer them to students. They’ve all been taken when I offer them. And, then, my lab assistant buys cool used books and gives me more. I have too many trinkets and too many music CDs. I have too many mala bracelets. It’s terrible.

      • Elizabeth says:

        The “too many mala bracelets” cracked me up. I’ve been thinking about BUYING a mala necklace! I already have a gazillion necklaces, but I don’t have a mala necklace. I’m afraid I’ll have all the accoutrements of simplicity without the simplicity!

  2. I know! I have a glass bowl I keep the bracelets in. It’s full. I should stop. Maybe I’ll do a “get one only if I give one away” thing. Someone has to love mala bracelets as much as I do. I have three mala necklaces. One with skulls. That one I love. The other is a beautiful green. And one was a gift from a student. I should stop there. I didn’t mention the Buddha/Tara statues. Do you know how many kinds of Buddha there are? And Taras. There’s a Tara for every possible color of the rainbow. And I love your new Buddha statue. This is a sickness, it really is.

Leave a Reply

