official, unofficial, whatever

I took the “Institute” out of my blog’s name.

A while back, a year or two, maybe, I put it in there, probably unnoticed.

That’s what this place where I live is officially called. Rainshadow Farm Institute. On my unfinished paperwork for the nonprofit I keep wiggling around about, that’s also what it’s called.

Some of my kids called it “Rainshadow Farm Academy” on the paperwork for the county when they homeschooled. I had a dedicated email account for it. We never used it.

There are two reasons I call it RSF Institute.

The first is that there is a Rainshadow Farm somewhere, I can’t remember exactly where. Somewhere in the Southwest or maybe northern California. They raise dogs. Very nice dogs.

We are not them. They are not us. I don’t want any trouble. I don’t raise dogs, but you never know how people will react to business names. And since I was running an eco-farm learning center, not a commercial farm and not a dog breeding farm, it seemed wise to officially attach a learning-word to our name.

The second reason is that one of my daughters had an assignment to design a business brochure when she was a business major and she added in the “Institute” to our long-term place name.

While I was doing a farm plan (with her help I might add), she decided to lay out the farm plan basics into her assigned brochure. It was a thing of beauty. I hope she still has it. I may need it.

She’s not a business major now; she’s about to graduate in political science. This girl is amazing. She just got back home from a Congressional internship, she’s doing a court internship, and she’s applying for some kind of state assembly internship in Sacramento this summer.

In DC

After DC

I’m digressing.

Here’s my line of thinking. This blog began as an “official” RSF Institute blog where I could outline our various projects and activities. We run workshops to promote socioecological awareness which is the backbone of learning for sustainability, I think. I try hard to maintain a living ethnobotanical nursery here.

Soil art canvases.

Soil art canvases.

Soil Art, framed, 2013

Soil Art, framed, 2013

A few winter experiments, 2014.

A few winter experiments, 2014.

I began an official blog with good intentions.

Life then grabbed me by the throat. Life has to do that to me sometimes, it seems like.

I began blogging about certain stuff of my life that isn’t directly related to this micro-farm. In fact, I’ve blogged about that stuff so much, eventually I may have to start another blog just for farm activities and workshops. For now, a RSF Facebook group takes care of that nicely.

And I can continue to chatter or blather or even rant here about whatever I want to. Farm talk is great stuff. A friend of mine always says “farm talk is the great leveler.” There’s some truth to that among farmers and gardeners.

RSF helping another local farmer with garden project.

RSF helping another local farmer with garden project.

On the other hand, sometimes I want that leveler and sometimes I don’t. Women who farm (and men for that matter) have things going on in their lives that may lead them to want to talk about things other than farming. That’s my story and that’s why I removed officialdom from the blog title. That doesn’t mean I’m going to stop talking about farming and gardening. No way.

About rainshadowfarm

I teach anthropology, am an archaeologist, a drylands agroecologist, community educator, and a single mother of eight grown kids. I currently own and operate an educational and research farm in the southern Mojave Desert, Rainshadow Farm. I'm 100% West Virginia hillbilly. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in agroecology, community, eco-art, ethnobotany, Life changes, socioecological intelligence, sustainability education and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

