A new year 2014

While looking back over her past year, my friend Reticula mentioned that she likes to start the new year off with a meaningful word. I like that idea. I’ve avoided posting around the new year, it overwhelms me this year, but I still like that idea.

In some ways I’m just bone-tired of new starts. I think that’s fine. I’ve had so many of them over the last couple of years. And even with all of these new starts and in spite of various people chirping at me how wonderful recreating myself can be (and how irritating that can be for me), I wanted to take Reticula’s idea to heart.

I probably took it all too seriously. During meditation early on the morning of the 7th, I began to think about the new year and what I might be up to. I decided I ought to work on gratitude. You know, count my blessings. Gratitude is good. But for me right now, to think I might be able focus on that level of constant gratitude just isn’t quite flying.

I need to just let it be. But, me, I can rarely let anything be. That can be a problem. Or not. It’s one of those best friends/worst enemies kind of thing for me, to let things be. For instance, “letting things be” led directly into the kind of denial that kept me in a debilitating and eventually crumbling relationship for so many years. But. Letting things be can be helpful . Sometimes it’s the only thing to do. And sometimes I’m good at it in beneficial ways.

So I thought about that old phrase from Julian of Norwich “all shall be well.” That has always been something of a comfort to me. It’s not any kind of mantra. I don’t think I’m that optimistic a person. But I like it. Sometimes it’s helpful, too.

Julian of Norwich and her cat at Norwich Cathedral.

Julian of Norwich and her cat at Norwich Cathedral.

“All shall be well
And all shall be well
And all manner of thing shall be well.”

And again, to take that on for the year, that feels like a struggle.

It’s meaningful to me, for sure, but it’s not the thing.

What did I come up with?

“Embrace your intuition and enhance your bullshit detector.”

That’s not a word. It’s a whole thing. But I think it’s what I need to do in the face of the oncoming year. Maybe I need to have some confidence, too.

So there.

“Embrace your intuition and enhance your bullshit detector.”
“Have confidence.”

That’s the thing.

I can remember to honor what I can do.

I can have confidence in what shall be.

I can learn how to trust my self and my environment. And by environment I mean all of it. All. Of. It.

Happy New Year, everyone.

Hermosa Beach. November 2013

Hermosa Beach. November 2013

About rainshadowfarm

I teach anthropology, am an archaeologist, a drylands agroecologist, community educator, and a single mother of eight grown kids. I currently own and operate an educational and research farm in the southern Mojave Desert, Rainshadow Farm. I'm 100% West Virginia hillbilly. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Life changes, resilience, spiritual ecologies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A new year 2014

  1. I love that you chose a whole sentence. I think yours is a good one. I am at once intrigued and irritated by the notion of choosing one word, although I did decide on LUSH. I am going to live my life more lushly this year. I’m going to stop beating myself up over my appearance and weight. I’m going to exercise more but be happy in my lushness.

    Well, at least I’m going to try!

    • I love your word. Just your saying it inspires me. So. Cheers to lushness! Cheers to your lushness in the upcoming year! And, yes, definitely stop beating yourself up over those things. You’re gorgeous.

  2. Reticula says:

    I still haven’t written about the word that chose me. I can’t say I chose it because it’s a weird word that I wouldn’t have chosen. I’ll write tonight. You’ve inspired me.

    And I think your word(s) is perfect for you this year. Don’t let people get away with shit. Don’t be nice when you don’t feel nice. Your bullshit detector works just fine; it’s societal expectations that are broken.

    • I keep checking for your word. I can’t wait! And thanks. You always have more confidence in me than I do in myself. See?! I’ve got to go there this year. Something set me off and I may have to post about it. Or not. It had to do with a tentative foray into internet dating. (Just stop laughing, or better yet talk to my kids and you can all laugh at me) 🙂

  3. LOL! Okay. I will. Maybe when you get onto the 10 Men, I’ll get inspired. I didn’t actually go on a date. This has to do with how I have reverted to adolescence. It’s okay, I think. It’s okay if someone thinks I’m a bitch. 😉

Leave a Reply

