MediCal/ACA Redux

Finally got in touch with a supervisor at Medi-Cal who could begin to let me know what is going on with my county, the state, and ACA. She has no idea why two months of paperwork from me has disappeared (again and again) but she’s sending me the requests yet once more. It has to be a bureaucratic nightmare but I see some light at the end of this tunnel. I’m likely going to be paying a premium for my Medi-Cal similar to the premium I pay for my younger kids’ IEHP. Can’t say I’m happy about this because the caliber of physicians who take MediCal in the high desert…well. I’ll say no more. On the other hand our family physician who does not take Medi-Cal told me last month he was applying to take it. He also told me that most doctors who want to keep working in the high desert will end up taking it because over 80% of the high desert is on Medicaid or Medicare.

I guess this is progress. I’m still uninsured and looks like I will be until my local Medi-Cal office stops losing my paperwork. She told me not to mail it, not to use the office drop box, not to use the weekend mail drop…but to walk it in and hand it to a worker. Sigh. Four active people, one car. Sure, I’ll figure it out. And keep agitating for single payer.

Meanwhile I’ll quote, as a kind of prayer, the inimitable Warren Zevon:

Don’t let us get sick
Don’t let us get old
Don’t let us get stupid, all right?

There’s more and it gets better, but, for me, that’s where I need to stop tonight. Maybe I’ll find that CD and play it on the way to work tonight.

About rainshadowfarm

West Virginia hillbilly girl grown up. Grew up in northern Ohio. Farmer from birth. Working class academic. Practical agroecologist. Community educator. Single parent of eight. I also teach anthropology at a community college. I like this work and think it's worth doing and doing well. California community college students are some of the most incredible students I have ever known.
This entry was posted in Adjuncting, disability, gray divorce, Life changes, resilience and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

