NaBloPoMo

Well, I did it. It’s December 1st and I did it. I wasn’t sure I could and I didn’t know about the little badge to put on my page and I’m not all linked up to the official site. I wasn’t clever enough to realize I needed to tag all of November’s posts NaBloPoMo. The truth is, I couldn’t remember it was even called NaBloPoMo and kept calling it BlaBlaPoMo because that I could remember.

But I did it. I didn’t finish the little book based on the diss I’m supposedly working on, but I blogged every day for a month, for the first time ever.  After that — I think finishing that little book ought to be a piece of cake.

In fact, I think I’ll finish that little book in December. Or maybe January.

Next year, if I am taken with whatever madness caused me to do this, I will do so.  And if I’m not taken by that madness, I sure hope to continue  posting more in the future. Writing it down has been quite an exercise in self-discipline. I thought researching and writing the dissertation at my age was a real workout. It was, but this was an exercise of a different, and much more personal, nature.

And the intensity of a post a day has definitely re-kindled my desire, and hopefully my ability, to use my own voice and not the academic voice that almost submerged it.

About rainshadowfarm

West Virginia hillbilly girl grown up. Grew up in northern Ohio. Farmer from birth. Working class academic. Practical agroecologist. Community educator. Single parent of eight. I also teach anthropology at a community college. I like this work and think it's worth doing and doing well. California community college students are some of the most incredible students I have ever known.
This entry was posted in Life changes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaBloPoMo

  1. Reticula says:

    Yay! Congratulations! I loved reading your posts this month. I hope you continue writing here. ❤

Leave a Reply

