ACA ranting…

I supported the ACA. I suppose I still do, in an abstract sense. In a personal sense, this isn’t working out so well for me.

I figure I can scrape by with the part time job I enjoy, the only job I currently have, at least for the next year and a half. My mind always circles back to the unfortunate state of my medical insurance, in spite of the ACA.  It’s share of cost Medi-Cal for us. Share of cost Medi-Cal asks us to pay the first $900+/month from our own pockets. In what way is this affordable? In what is this even medical insurance?

I earn too little to use the exchanges. I can’t even if I want to. If I earned even less I would be eligible for straight Medicaid which is fully subsidized. Why is a teacher in this position?

If I quit working (I don’t want to, really don’t need to, and would then be flat out in poverty) I would qualify for straight Medicaid. My kids over 18 have to apply for their own Medicaid share of cost, unless they are already insured, which of course they aren’t given circumstances of the past two years. Here we have most of a family who is insured in name “Medicaid share of cost,” but uninsured in reality. I seriously hope that when January 1st rolls around, some of this weirdness will begin to be less weird.

And, yes, I surely do need medical care. Single-payer is the way to go.  What we’ve got right now would encourage me to work less, when I’d really like to work more. That’s another can of worms. Landing a job in academia at my age that pays more than adjunct work and that gives me more responsibility than adjunct work would be awesome. It’s not happening right now.

About rainshadowfarm

I teach anthropology, am an archaeologist, a drylands agroecologist, community educator, and a single mother of eight grown kids. I currently own and operate an educational and research farm in the southern Mojave Desert, Rainshadow Farm. I'm 100% West Virginia hillbilly. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Adjuncting, disability, family, gray divorce, Life changes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

