That thing about interdisciplinary work

One answer to my questions about finding a full time job.

There are factors here but this is one answer. In spite of plenty of talking throughout academia about the value of interdisciplinary scholars, the powers that be don’t necessarily want to hire them.

There are some things I want to do. I’m older, but not dead yet, thankyouverymuch. I may have to think more broadly and unexpectedly.

I have let the farm learning center grow organically. I could turn it into a “farm” by federal standards (for some grants) by bringing in about $100/month. I have a few ideas for that.  I could make it an educational nonprofit where I can continue to do drylands farming research.  I’d prefer to wait another year, or at least a few months before I tackle something like that. My accountant says it’s a stressful undertaking. I’d prefer to not take on that kind of stress right at the moment. One of my CSA farmer friends says simply earning the money and applying for grants is much less stress.  I’m still applying for relevant full time jobs

Communi-trees, definition.

Communi-trees, definition.

Communi-tree at Rancho Santa Anita Botanical Garden.

Communi-tree at Rancho Santa Anita Botanical Garden.

I’m like a communi-tree.  I point in every direction and try to bring communities together like they are in nature. I don’t really care if some people think I’m foolish or look odd. I’ve always been a bridge-builder.

Nascent communi-trees at RSF.

Nascent communi-trees at RSF.

It all fits together in nature; it's all interdisciplinary.

It all fits together in nature; it’s all interdisciplinary.

About rainshadowfarm

I teach anthropology, am an archaeologist, a drylands agroecologist, community educator, and a single mother of eight grown kids. I currently own and operate an educational and research farm in the southern Mojave Desert, Rainshadow Farm. I'm 100% West Virginia hillbilly. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Adjuncting, Anthropology, education, Life changes, Nature, sustainable agriculture and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

