Cash flow woes?

What can I really afford from my income now that I have a somewhat smaller mortgage? Well, the mortgage. Basic sustenance of household. Some extras like the internet and cable TV. Pray nothing goes wrong with the house and nothing major with the car and no one gets sick, at least until we know what’s going on with the Affordable Care Act for us.  It certainly could be worse.

My younger kids tell me not to worry about money. “It’s only money,” they say. One of them has a good job, part-time, and he goes to school.  He contributes to the household in an old-fashioned way, reminiscent of how things were done in West Virginia, in my parents’ day, when daddy ran off.  Reminiscent of my own father’s journey, except these days that son can stay in school. That alone is golden. Still, It can be hard, being the head of a still-large household, an older woman, left here with a part-time job.

Mother's Day minus S.

Mother’s Day minus S.

Golden Gate 2011

Golden Gate 2011

I took the job a decade or so ago so that I could remain the primary care-taker of a large brood of offspring.  I have talked with a few people lately about their and my thoughts about improving my income just enough to feel more secure about staying on part time at my two-year college. Those of us who continue to adjunct have to cobble together ways to support ourselves. If every full time door I knock on closes in my face, this may be the best way to go.

As for me, I’m here, I’m working, I’m somewhere around 138% of the federal poverty level, yet I love the work I do. If I have to, I’ll find a way in the midst of this hard reality. It’s about the students. It’s about the students and the love of what we do.

Building together.

Building together.

Work worth doing, well done.

Work worth doing, well done.

About rainshadowfarm

I teach anthropology, am an archaeologist, a drylands agroecologist, community educator, and a mother of eight. I currently own and operate an educational and research farm in the southern Mojave Desert, Rainshadow Farm. I'm 100% West Virginia hillbilly. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in education, family, gratitude, gray divorce, Life changes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

