Stop now

Maybe it’s my age. Maybe it’s my own proclivities; maybe what I’ve experienced has caught up with what I want in my life and what I believe.

Fragmentation is everywhere, even among people who are all trying so hard to “make ‘positive’ change happen.” Maybe it’s us. Maybe it’s the way people are, to fragment. In that case, I should just pack my bags and take off. I’ve spent my life trying to build bridges and I can’t say it’s done any good. Maybe it has on a very small scale. Maybe from one person to another. Maybe. Maybe some of the change we make together ripples out into our communities and then from there.

small bridge across a dry place

small bridge across a dry place

At this point in my life, I can only see positive change taking place through reframing a negative vision into positive terms. And I’m not sure that will help heal the rifts between us. If we keep expressing what we don’t want, can we really come together to enact what we do want? Can we even figure out what we do want?

Does this sound like negativity? I don’t think it is. I think I have been running around so long trying to make certain things happen that I’m finally out of breath. I think I’m like a hiker who has hit a break in the woods and I’m ready to sit down in a forest meadow and rest. And consider.

Considering. What do I want? Where am I going? I’ve been racing around so long; that can’t go on. It’s time to sit quietly and let the past go. Really begin again. Here. Now. With what I hold. With what remains. With what sustains.

Mesquite in orchard and raised beds at RSF.

Mesquite in orchard and raised beds at RSF.

About rainshadowfarm

I teach anthropology, am an archaeologist, a drylands agroecologist, community educator, and a single mother of eight grown kids. I currently own and operate an educational and research farm in the southern Mojave Desert, Rainshadow Farm. I'm 100% West Virginia hillbilly. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Life changes, resilience and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

