Ag Refrain Part II

Back to the bedrock of my own thinking about growing food in drylands.

 

  • Beginning small is okay.
  • Sit with and begin to really know (be in relationship with) the land.
  • LISTEN TO the land you are on.
  • Listen to the people around you. Really listen deeply.
  • Let relationships (with land and people) grow organically.
  • Let things grow incrementally.
  • Stay the course — let things take root!
  • Allow for change and dynamic movement.

 

This works with more than growing food in the high desert. In fact, I can’t think of any part of my life where it will not enhance living well with people, the community of all beings, where it will not enhance relationship, learning, and problem-solving.

In my own life, there is a meditative element to this kind of presencing.  My friends and colleagues do not necessarily agree with me, but that’s okay. In my own life, there is great value in mindfulness meditation when working with land that is very marginal and difficult to grow in. I’d have given up so many years ago without this.

Cajon Fire Summer 2011 from RSF

Cajon Fire Summer 2011 from RSF

About rainshadowfarm

I teach anthropology, am an archaeologist, a drylands agroecologist, community educator, and a single mother of eight grown kids. I currently own and operate an educational and research farm in the southern Mojave Desert, Rainshadow Farm. I'm 100% West Virginia hillbilly. Not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in spiritual ecologies, sustainable agriculture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

