Unschooling and working a job

Homeschooling and working: How to make it work

By the time our family was fairly deeply into homeschooling, I think I knew more two-income homeschooling families than single-income families. The article I’ve posted has some good ideas. Some things my friends and I did included: “regular,” full time jobs for one partner, plus (for the other partner) publishing home education related magazines, writing for some of those magazines, teaching part time at colleges and universities, teaching full time at colleges and universities with flexible schedules, working varied hours at local schools, writing and marketing curriculum for many different educational needs, operating local “umbrella” schools mainly for new homeschooling families, home businesses (cake decorating, childbirth classes, consulting in various areas of business, educational consulting, tutoring), nursing with flexible hours, farming, and many other things. This is harder to do if you aren’t homeschooling with a partner, much more challenging for a single parent, but I have known people to do it. I have known families with two full time working parents managing, as well. For a while my husband worked full time while I had up to four part time jobs (some very part time). At one point,  my husband had a part time business at home along with his regular full time employment outside of the home while I ran a micro-farm. It sounds like a lot of work but the part time job was recreational for my husband and the farm was a tremendous benefit to me and the entire family.  It was a huge part of our homeschooling lifestyle.

Some of my kids began their own small businesses and some began working while homeschooling; no different than public schooled high school kids.

For a while we were involved in a local home educators’ co-op where many of us taught each others’ children a wide variety of material. In fact, we parents taught each other and learned from each others’ children as well. This co-op included families from a range of socio-economic backgrounds and ethnic backgrounds. Often we were able to provide care for each others kids when needed. Eventually, sadly, this particular group disbanded and was not re-established. It was a good idea that lasted a while. Things do change.

If home education is what a family wants to do, I think they can find a way – with support and some creative thinking.

About rainshadowfarm

West Virginia hillbilly girl grown up. Grew up in northern Ohio. Farmer from birth. Working class academic. Practical agroecologist. Community educator. Single parent of eight. I also teach anthropology at a community college. I like this work and think it's worth doing and doing well. California community college students are some of the most incredible students I have ever known.
This entry was posted in unschooling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

